Kellogg launches Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal
Posted: 12 May 2011 | Kellogg Company | 3 comments
Starting in June 2011, grocery stores across the U.S. will begin stocking new Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal alongside the original variety.
Starting in June 2011, grocery stores across the U.S. will begin stocking new Kellogg's® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal alongside the original variety.
The wait for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity is almost over. Starting in June 2011, grocery stores across the U.S. will begin stocking new Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal alongside the original variety.
Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal brings a family favorite back to the tables of people who are unable to eat gluten, offering long-time fans and a new generation of gluten-sensitive kids the joy of eating a bowl of this beloved cereal “that talks,” or whipping up a batch of delicious, gluten-free Rice Krispies Treats® marshmallow squares. “Kellogg is pleased to announce plans for the launch of our first-ever gluten-free cereal – Rice Krispies® Gluten Free – which should start hitting store shelves by early June,” said Doug VanDeVelde, senior vice president of marketing and innovation at Kellogg. “We heard the strong desire from people within the gluten-free community, especially parents, for more affordable foods that they can serve their families, and we are helping to fill that need.” The new cereal eliminates barley malt (the source of gluten in the original Rice Krispies® cereal) and is made with whole grain brown rice to differentiate it from the original and for flavor. Each serving of the new gluten-free cereal contains 120 calories, less than 1 gram of sugar, 1 gram each of fat and fiber, 3 grams of protein and 190 milligrams of sodium. The cereal is fortified with several vitamins and minerals. The suggested retail price for new Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal is the same as the original cereal. Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal will be produced in a separate facility that has been making gluten-free products for nearly a decade. Each batch of cereal will be tested to ensure its gluten-free status, as will the production line. About Celiac Disease/Gluten Sensitivity Celiac disease is a genetic autoimmune disorder of the digestive system triggered by eating gluten. Gluten is a natural protein that is found in wheat, barley and rye. Foods and ingredients made from these grains – such as cereal, breads, pasta and baked goods – may contain gluten. When people with celiac disease eat foods containing gluten, they experience an autoimmune reaction in their small intestine and subsequently are unable to absorb certain nutrients. Symptoms can include abdominal pain, gas and diarrhea. Eventually, the decreased absorption of nutrients that occurs with celiac disease can result in vitamin deficiencies. Celiac disease affects about one in 133 people, according to the National Institutes of Health.(1) There is no cure for celiac disease, but the condition can be successfully managed by avoiding gluten in the diet. Some people who have not been diagnosed with celiac disease can experience uncomfortable digestive symptoms after eating gluten-containing foods. They are said to have gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity. People who have a wheat allergy, which is different from celiac disease, are unable to eat wheat protein without abdominal discomfort or other allergic reactions. Wheat allergies often affect children and can be outgrown, unlike celiac disease. “Many people with celiac disease, including children, often go undiagnosed for years,” said Elizabeth Ward, MS, RD, and author of several books about kids and nutrition. “Because the condition can present itself with a broad range of symptoms including various food intolerances and gastrointestinal upset, the signs of celiac disease may be attributed to other issues. If parents suspect they or their children may have problems with gluten, they should ask their doctor for a blood test and other tests to help diagnose the disease. A registered dietitian with expertise in celiac disease and gluten sensitivity is an invaluable source of information about following a gluten-free diet.”