IAFP announces 2013 award recipients

Posted: 15 May 2013 | IAFP | No comments yet

The awards recognise excellence in food safety by organisations and individuals and will be presented at IAFP 2013…

IAFP 2013 Logo

The International Association for Food Protection (IAFP) will present awards recognising excellence in food safety to the following organizations and individuals at IAFP 2013, July 28–31 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

IAFP 2013 LogoThe IAFP Fellow Award is awarded to professionals who have contributed to IAFP and its affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time. This year, Gary Acuff, Texas A&M University, College Station, will receive this honor.

Bill Sperber, Cargill (retired), Minnetonka, MN, will be awarded the President’s Lifetime Achievement Award. This award, given at the discretion of the IAFP President, recognizes an individual who has made a lasting impact on Advancing Food Safety Worldwide® through a lifetime of professional achievements in food protection.

The Honorary Life Membership Award will be presented to Anna Lammerding, Public Health Agency of Canada (retired), Guelph, Ontario; Morris Potter, FDA (retired), Chamblee, GA; Gloria Swick-Brown, Ohio Department of Health (retired), Columbus; and Bruce Tompkin, ConAgra (retired), LaGrange, IL. This award recognizes IAFP Members for their dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for their service to the Association.

The Harry Haverland Citation Award will be awarded to Paul Hall, Flying Food Group, Wexford, PA, for his years of devotion to the ideals and objectives of the Association.

CEERAM, Nantes, France, will receive the Food Safety Innovation Award, given for their detection methods associated with enteroviruses.

The International Leadership Award will be presented to Santos Garcia Alvarado, Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon, Mexico, for his dedication to the high ideals and objectives of IAFP and for promotion of the mission of the Association in countries outside of the United States and Canada.

Vijay Juneja, USDA-ARS-ERRC,Wyndmoor, PA,will receive the GMA Food Safety Award in recognition of a long history of outstanding contributions to food safety research and education.

The Frozen Food Foundation Freezing Research Award will be presented to Da-Wen Sun, University College Dublin, Ireland. This award honors an individual, group, or organization for preeminence and outstanding contributions in research that impacts food safety attributes of freezing.

The Maurice Weber Laboratorian Award will be presented to James Dickson, Iowa State University, Ames, to recognize his service for outstanding contributions in the laboratory and recognizing a commitment to the development of innovative and practical analytical approaches in support of food safety.

Walid Alali, University of Georgia, Griffin, will be presented the Larry Beuchat Young Researcher Award. This award is presented to a young researcher who has shown outstanding ability and professional promise in the early years of his/her career.

David Blomquist, Ecolab Food & Beverage Division, Eagan, MN, will receive the Sanitarian Award to recognize his dedication and exceptional service to the profession of sanitarian, serving the public and the food industry.

The Elmer Marth Educator Award will be presented to Randall Phebus, Kansas State University/FSI, Manhattan, to recognize his dedication and exceptional contributions to the profession of the educator.

Loralyn Ledenbach, Kraft Foods Global Inc., Glenview, IL, is the recipient of the Harold Barnum Industry Award. This award recognizes her outstanding service to IAFP, the public, and the food industry.