GFTC Food Safety Recognition Awards Winners announced

Posted: 27 February 2013 | Guelph Food Technology Centre | No comments yet

At the Safe Food Canada 2013 symposia, the winners of the inaugural GFTC Food Safety Recognition Awards were announced…

At the recent Safe Food Canada 2013 symposia, the winners of the inaugural GFTC Food Safety Recognition Awards were announced. The submissions were diverse, country-wide and represented various areas within the food industry. The awards were created to recognize Canadian individuals and companies who embody the high standards of food safety.

The committee’s backgrounds, accomplishments and experiences reflect the diversity of the food and beverage industry in Canada. The members of the committee were:

  • Susan Abel, Food & Consumer Products of Canada
  • Denis Bélanger, Agropur cooperative
  • Albert F. Chambers, Monachus Consulting
  • Neil Checketts, Sobeys Inc.
  • Tom Graham, Canadian Food Inspection Agency
  • Marilyn Lee, Ryerson University, School of Occupational and Public Health
  • Derek Jamieson, Parrish & Heimbecker Milling Group
  • Lee-Anne Lyon-Bartley, Compass Group Canada
  • Keith Warriner, University of Guelph

Allied Trades Food Safety Award

Given to a company that supports the food and beverage industry (e.g. sanitation, pest control, contractors, millwrights, consultants, etc.) through the use of quality and process management systems to deliver product and service excellence.

Winner – Sani Marc Group

Keith Warriner, microbiology expert, states: “Sani Marc Group have made a significant contribution to food safety through innovations in sanitation. They have demonstrated an active R&D program and are serving major companies with high standards.”

Food Safety Excellence

Given to a company (designated site or facility) demonstrating commitment to and stellar results with food safety performance and continuous improvement

Winner – Skilcor Foods Inc.

According to Paul Medeiros, GFTC Director, Consulting Services : “The numerous examples of cross functional and management engagement from daily operational meetings to regular senior management reviews indicate that the entire organization works to keep their finger on the pulse of their food safety program.”

Food Safety Leadership

Given to an individual (employee of food or packaging company or allied trade) who drives food safety excellence within a company and inspires others through their passion and actions.

Winner – Marilyn Allen

The Leadership selection sub-committee was impressed with how Marilyn inserts herself in regulatory and industry committees in order to ensure the allergen voice is heard….and that voice is resounding.